Can you be too enthusiastic?

I’m easily excitable and so I get very enthusiastic very easily.

When it comes to new ideas, a new sport, a new type of food, a new concept or even just a new way of eating tuna I get excited. As long as it’s new I’m excited and enthusiastic.

I’m beginning to think that this may be a problem sometimes, especially in sales situations.

Being to “let’s get in there and get it all done tomorrow” just because that’s the way I am may come across to potential customers as needing their business or help. I have recently found that this can be countered if you pepper the enthusiasm with a statement making it clear that you’re happy to take it or leave it, the games changes and it changes almost immediately.

I’ve even had an experienced salesman say to me, “Scott, just be more patient.”

So I’ve got two questions at the moment

  1. Should I tempter my enthusiasm more when many people say it is a great quality?
  2. How do you make it clear to a customer/employee/partner that you can take it or leave it? I ask this because once they see this they tend to be more interested and willing to get involved.

0 Responses to “Can you be too enthusiastic?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Scott Middleton
View Scott Middleton's profile on LinkedIn
Follow me on twitter @scottmiddleton.

Recent Interesting Links

Pages

July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031