Thanking your mentors and peers

Last night at my companies “End of Financial Year Celebrations” I was talking to someone who I consider to be one of my mentors, a member of my mastermind group. A few drinks had been consumed so we were talking dreams, aspirations and how much we enjoy working for Object Consulting.

We were talking about how great the people are and I started telling her just how much a few individuals really had helped me. Through advice, war stories, working through a problem of mine, explaining something that others would deem ‘over my head’, or in the best case involving me in a business startup outside of Object I couldn’t describe in words how helpful they had been. I thanked her for being one of those people.

“I want to thank everyone of these people but I don’t know how. I can’t really just go and say thank you, should I get them a few beers or some wine?” I asked. I really wasn’t sure about how to thank these people.

“You should just go and say thank you. They’d really like that.” My mentor replied. Her infinite wisdom in dealing with people made me reconsider the way I viewed thanking.

So I went and said thank you.

It was the best thing I’ve done in a while, I felt better, I’m sure they felt better. I’d gotten caught up in thinking I needed to buy something, but I didn’t. I just needed to say thank you.

How do you say thank you?

0 Responses to “Thanking your mentors and peers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Scott Middleton
View Scott Middleton's profile on LinkedIn

Twitter Updates

Follow me on twitter @scottmiddleton.

Recent Interesting Links

Pages

August 2007
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

